COVID-19, Climate Justice and Colonization: A View from the UK with Jane Trowell

Join the Solutionary Rail Team in an interview with Jane Trowell, Wednesday, April 15th.

TIME: 10am Pacific / 1pm Eastern / 6pm UK

COVID-19 comes hard on the heels of a racist xenophobic Brexit campaign in the UK. Both the right-wing British government and the right-wing media cast around for scapegoats for the social chaos and misery COVID and Brexit has caused, never turning the lens on themselves and free market policy. They refute the connection between the capitalism, privilege, borders, climate and justice, while our National Health Service is running on a heroic empty, 17,000 EU staff having returned home in the past 8 months, and 44% of the remaining staff medics of colour and ‘immigrants’. But, are the cracks being laid bare?

A cross-disciplinary arts educator, Jane Trowell has been a member of Platform since 1991, a London-based, award-winning collective that brings together artists, activists, researchers and campaigners.

Platform’s current campaigns focus on the social, economic and environmental impacts of the global oil industry. Their pioneering education courses, exhibitions, art events and book projects promote radical new ideas that inspire change.

When you RSVP, you'll be emailed a link to connect to the Zoom call at the time of the interview. It will also be livestreamed on the Backbone Campaign facebook page.

WHEN
April 15, 2020 at 10am - 11am
WHERE
Zoom Video Conferencing
CONTACT
Diane Wittner

Will you come?


connect